top banner

Boards and Staff

United for Literacy benefits from the expertise of two Boards of Directors. The United for Literacy Board provides oversight to the work of the organization. The United for Literacy Foundation Board manages and stewards endowment funds and other gifts donated for the ongoing support of our literacy programs

  • Board of Directors
  • Foundation Board of Directors
  • Staff
  • Historian and Honorary Board Members

Anne Parker (Chair)

Former COO, Managing Director, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Directors
Greystone Managed Investments Inc.

John Wiltshire (Vice Chair)

Former President and CEO
Canadian Marketing Association

Peter Levitt (Treasurer)

Executive Vice President, Treasury and Taxation

L. Neil Gower KC (Secretary)

Former Partner
MLT Aikens LLP

Suzanne Anton KC

Former Attorney General and
Minister of Justice, BC

Goshka Folda

President and CEO, Investor Economics
Global Head of Research, ISS Market intelligence Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS)

Ira Goldstein

Founder and CEO
Kernel Advisory

Kristen Miller

Indigenous High School Graduation Coach - Edmonton Public Schools

Sartaj Sarkaria

Chief Operating Officer
Canadian Marketing Association

Linda Tchombé

Director, Philanthropic Development Fondation du Grand Montréal

Hañwakañ Blaikie Whitecloud

Wakan Productions Inc.

Rayan Rafay (ex-officio)

Co-founder & CFO/COO

Rayan Rafay (Chair)

Co-founder & CFO/COO

Lauren Manteuffel (Vice Chair)

Chief Financial Officer,
Spira Equity Partners

Suzanne Anton KC

Former Attorney General and
Minister of Justice, BC

Yassir Berbiche

Chief Treasurer, Desjardins Group

Brian Clark

Former Executive, Imperial Oil/ExxonMobil

Marija Finney

Co-founder, Placemore Capital Inc.

Meron Tecle

Principal Corporate Governance,
Total Fund Management
Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

John Wiltshire

Former President & CEO,
Canadian Marketing Association

Anne Parker (ex-officio)

Former COO, Managing Director, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Directors,
Greystone Managed Investments Inc.

Mélanie Valcin

President and CEO

Michelle Fraser

Office Manager and
Executive Assistant to the President

Kaylea Bove

Vice President, Finance

Richard Harvey

Vice President, Programs and Impact

Sandi Kiverago

Vice President, Operations

Angela Briscoe

Director, Government Relations

Maureen Anglin

Regional Director, Ontario

Mark Anto

Regional Director
Québec, Nunavut, NWT and Atlantic Canada

Robb Bowker

Director, Strategic Development and Alliances

Laura Keegan

Regional Director, Western Canada

Meredith Roberts

Director, Communications and Annual Giving

Sathya Amirthavasagam

Manager, Analytics & Innovation

Jennifer Chow

Events Manager

Cory Kane

Program Manager
Nunavut and Northwest Territories

Candielya Jackson

Regional Manager, Prairies

Joëlle Marion

Program Manager, Southern Québec

Cathy Mehagan

Regional Manager, Northern Ontario

Annie Montague

Regional Manager, BC

Azmina Navodia

Regional Manager
Alberta (on leave)

Jared Ross

National Programs Support Manager

Liliana Sitkowiecki

Manager, Northern Quebec

Krystyna Slawecki

Program Manager

Johnny St-Onge

Regional Manager, Atlantic Canada

Shannon Stevens

Regional Manager, Southern Ontario

Vanessa Wong

Regional Manager, Toronto

The Hon. R. Roy McMurtry

Honorary Board Member

Michael Meighen

Honorary Board Member

James Morrison (Historian)

Professor Emeritus,
Department of History,
St. Mary's University

Facebook YouTube Twitter Instagram LinkedIn